A short reminder

Luke 23:43

Jesus answered him, “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise.” NIV

I have a busy day ahead of me.  As I was driving home late last night, I planned this morning.  I briefly considered whether I would have time for my quiet time this morning.  When the alarm went off, as I was thanking God for the opportunities that today holds, I thought … “I need a short verse this morning God.”

With no time to go through two concordances, I went straight to Bible Gateway.com.  As I perused the listings of the word, “worry,” in The Message, the length of this verse caught my eye.

And then when I read it … I was overwhelmed.

This is, indeed, a short verse and an obvious reminder not to worry.  The Message translates it, “He said, ‘Don’t worry.  I will.  Today you will join me in paradise.'”MSG

These are among the last words my savior spoke before dying on the cross.  “Don’t worry.” How powerful!

As he reassured the thief dying next to him of his future, so he reassures me.  There is nothing to fear.  Should this be my last day here, or whatever my last day will be, on that day, I will be with HIM in paradise.

That’s what I’ll think about today.

3 Comments

Filed under Fear, Luke, New Testament, Worry

3 responses to “A short reminder

  1. Cj

    I need this today.

Leave a Reply

